cold elixir….

We have colds..except for Susie. Crossing my fingers she doesn’t get it. She hasn’t been sick yet and I am terrified.

People debate a lot over what is best for colds. Sleep and no stress are the best cures in reality BUT I am a fan of a good aromatic elixir, ie a great burbon hot toddy.

So here is my recipe which just alters the original a little.

Burbon Hot Toddy

1 thin slice of ginger minced

1 cinnamon stick or equivalent in powder form (1/2 tsp)

pinch of pumpkin pie spice

2 shakes (1 tsp) red chili flakes

1/4 shot burbon of your choice–I like Makers. This is for flavor and aroma not for drinking drinking!

1 tsp honey

1 large wedge lemon

1 orange wedge

12-16oz boiling water (I always go big on the water–currently drinking a 20ozer)

Inhale vapor and your sinuses will clear, drink when cool and I hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

