urban life….

Living in LA is awesome. I love the oddness, the people, the sun, the beach, the pool, the food, the diversity; I even love the ridiculousness. Okay, sometimes driving sucks and I miss the lack of walkable, affordable neighborhoods (but if you look hard you can find them). The other thing I love, and I have said this before, is the massive amount of urban wildlife–more visible and present than any other city I’ve lived in.

As of last night–we welcomed 2 baby (newly kicked out of the nest) opossums to our complex grounds. I checked with a local wildlife rescue to see if these little guys needed help. It turns out if an opossum is 6 inches long they are ready to be on their own. I didn’t pull out a tape measure but I think these cute* little ones just meet the length requirement–they are clear for the ride of life. Here’s hoping they don’t become other urban wildlife or urban pet (i.e. cat) food.

IMG_4186 IMG_4192

*I know a lot of people think opossums are gross and not cute. I think they are cute and found out some interesting factoids via the internet while trying to figure out if these guys needed to be rescued: 1. they have more teeth (52) than any other mammal in North America. 2. They rarely carry disease or rabies because they maintain a lower body temperature than other mammals–inhospitable to bacteria and viruses.

Leave a Reply

