important lists….

I want a pet, aching for a pet. People who know me know I like to own pets. I had cats but my cats would not have made in on the mean streets of  Fishtown. I even cross to the other side of the street when I spot some of the tough looking strays around here. Plus snow, rain, cars, dogs, kittens, dust, carrots, grass, sunlight, night, and bananas scared them. Philly is too rough.

W has made a list of acceptable pets. The criteria to make the list: in water, in a tank, no filter. The only animal on the list is a Beta fish–I have killed a lot of Betas in my time so I am holding off on purchasing another. Also, to be honest, its a lot easier to find a dog sitter than a Beta sitter.

So what do to, what to do. I circumvented the list. I found a pet that was already in our house. I found a pet spider. “EWWWWWwwwww!!!!” you say. But hold your ‘Ew’s!’ Fred (yes I have named him Fred) is tiny, fuzzy and has iridescent fangs. He is harmless and lives in our windowsill poaching the stupid flies that escape my electric-fly-killing-tennis-racket (best invention EVER). We are a team! Together Fred and I (with the ocassional assistance of Rocky who actually snapped and caught a fly today while laying on the couch) are waging fly war.  We are winning.

***UPDATE: I googled and found out that Fred is a Daring Jumping Spider (Phidippus Audax) and his type are very common and all pretty equally cute. Also, this guy LOVES Jumping Spiders–I am nowhere near this, um, taken with them but the story is cute–so are the baby spider pictures.

Below are pictures of my new pet….

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tagged

3 thoughts on “important lists….

  1. Susan says:

    What a great pet, or rather friend, or rather ally… Go Fred! Go Lea! Go Rocky–you all make quite a team. My spiders are boring and I never see them, just their webs; and mine don’t have amazing irridescent blue fangs. Anna’s dad, Dick, is a spider fan too, and he will be jealous of Fred’s colors.

  2. claire says:

    that spider is freaky!!

  3. lmsanderswilcox says:

    He’s cute right!!!

Leave a Reply

