flip side….

I’ve been out. Its the end of the quarter and things are a bit tense. And I was in Montreal for Thanks Giving; courtesy of W. We had a good time- Montreal is a fun city to just walk around- even in below freezing temps- bring a sweater, no bring at least 2 sweaters, scarves, mittens, coats, and boots with fuzzy insides. Also, bring a lot of cashola because its expensive, oh and bring a French translator because though people speak French and English they mainly just speak French. It is like you are transported to a very cold Paris. I would describe it as snuggly. Oh- and go see the giant market- lots of samples. I love samples.

So I should be studying for finals. I just took one and have 6 (yes 6!!!) next week. Fudge. But the reason why I am not stressed out is because the largest part of my stress is gone. How can it be gone? you ask.

I passed checkout.

Checkout is the most terrifying thing I have ever done- more than being in a play, more than sailing in tinsy boats in snow and wind,more than turbulence (I hate turbulence), more than my former college career all classes combined, and more than moving across the country and in with W (W- it was really not that scary moving in with you).

What you do is memorize all the assessments for all they systems in the body. Then you pick one from a hat. Then you do it on your partner….in front of a professor (we also had to do catheters and injections). Basically all our hours and hours of labs (15 hours of labs a week) led to this one five minute assessment- that is a lot of concentration.

I got so worked up my pulse was 118.

It is usually 65.

But now its over and that means I can now do things to you that you cannot do to me. I can poke you with needles and/or tubing (not in the same place). I can tell you if any of your systems are abnormal. For example: if you have a 6 inch pulsating distension on your abdomen…that is abnormal…go see a doctor…its probably an Alien about to burst out of your stomach.

That last part may not be true.

I have to go study for my comparably significantly insignificant finals- only45% of my grade. Pssshhaaww! …..okay I am knocking on wood that I do well.

See you on the flip side!

6 thoughts on “flip side….

  1. ken says:

    i can relate, after my french exam at Claremont I was still wired 36 hours later.

  2. Susan says:

    sounds like having a baby…maybe… a little bit, but then you end up with a baby instead of a “pass,” “well done,” and a nursing degree; 6 of one/half dozen of the other…

  3. claire says:

    yay good job on passing checkout!!! you are awesome!

  4. lmsanderswilcox says:

    Thank you!
    Ken- I remember the story you used to tell about drinking too much Vanilla and only remembering ‘the rain in spain stays mainly on the plain’ for a spanish test. I always think of that.
    baby/nurse- pretty much the same thing.

  5. johnstanhope says:

    When you do catheters and injections, do you work on real patients?

    • lmsanderswilcox says:

      For the first quarter of nursing school we did not do much. Now we do catheters and meds (including injections–not highly dangerous drugs like morophine or Potassium injections) under the strict supervision and guidance of our clinical professors or nurses. As students we fall under their licenses and they want to make sure everything is done properly with as minimal discomfort to the patient.

Leave a Reply

