morals….

Doing: Philosophy
Reading: St. Augustine, On Free Choice of the Will
Watching: The Good Wife (have to save Glee! for tomorrow)
Listening: blah
Saving: blah
Buying: Crap- bus tickets cause I left mine at home, but I get reimbursed for them.
Exercising: walking home from work- stepping it up tomorrow with kick boxing and abs class
Eating: Almonds, 16oz NF Lattee, pretzel sticks & Havarti, Beef stew & rice, small apple, small apple&peanutbutter, Earl Grey tea, 1/4 bottle of beer

So you will have to bear with me while I am in philosophy class because I am pretty entertained by it. If I had this teacher the first time around I might not have failed it. No, I still would have failed (to into other things: sailing, boys, drinking) but I would have enjoyed failing.

Anyhoo- we got an assignment passed back that was really just meant to introduce ourselves. I am passing it on to you and you can comment a couple questions or all of the answers if you feel like it or just think about it…or not. I just like this stuff because if I talk about it with others they think I am on drugs. My answers are below as well.

1. What do you think of when you hear the word morality?
2. What do you think of when you hear the word ethics?
3. How do you decide whether or not an action is ‘right’ or ‘wrong’?
4. Where do your morals come from?
5. Do you believe a universal standard (one more code that all humanity ‘should’ adhere to) exists?
6. Do you believe that morality is contingent?
7. How is it, do you explain, that moral thinking has come into existence?
8. Do you believe other animals have moral conscience?

My Answers:

1. What do you think of when you hear the word morality?
To me, morals are your own internal code of right and wrong.

2. What do you think of when you hear the word ethics?

To me, ethics are what society, culture, groups decide what s right or wrong.
3. How do you decide whether or not an action is ‘right’ or ‘wrong’?

I decide what is right and wrong base on whether it harms others and if it is going to save others overall. For example, killing is wrong because it harms other but killing in order to save innocent lives (Holocaust, etc.) is not wrong because overall more people are saved. I have not decided fully what ‘others’ means. Do it include animals? To an extent–and I am not sure where that line falls.
4. Where do your morals come from?

Some from my parents, some from society, others from personal development–or study: Like I have issues with animal testing because is it right for one species to kill another? I have issues with animal testing because it is not natural–where as eating meat was a natural part of evolution though not animal farming).
5. Do you believe a universal standard (one more code that all humanity ‘should’ adhere to) exists?

I believe there is a universal standard of not harming others unless they are harming you.
6. Do you believe that morality is contingent?

Yes, because depending on which group you identify with the definition of ‘other’ and ‘harm’ could change. And the rules by which you judge when it is necessary to harm others could change.
7. How is it, do you explain, that moral thinking has come into existence?

I believe moral think started as a way to survive in a group–give order to a group/making decisions as a group. Groups offer better chances of survival. I believe as groups become more complicated and layered so did our moral/ethical thinking.
8. Do you believe other animals have moral conscience?

Yes- I believe most upper primate groups (chimpanzees, gorillas) have a right and wrong similar to that of humans–they show encouragement, laughter and even ostracize others. I also believe her and pack animals have a more simplified right and wrong–if you don’t follow the rules of ther her/pach then you are out.

Leave a Reply

