scary sitch….

Imagine every single scary bug rolled into one: long spider legs, creepy antennae, long scaly body, and much much larger than your usual house insect. This is what I saw last night while watching Fringe (0f course.). Scary.

However, I had already known such a thing existed because I worked at a cafe where one lived in a drain. I had worked there a year, religiously pouring boiling water down our espresso machine’s drain because my boss would recite the horrors of this bug. I thought she was nuts. She wasn’t. One afternoon I was bending over the drain, alternating boiling water and some poisonous chemical when a giant centipede complete with the above listed scary features crawled out. Not only was it scary but also completely happy hanging out in boiling water and noxious chemicals. WTF?!?! I screamed and then drew a picture and showed it to our regulars (maybe not a good business decision). After much research, I found out it was a Greek House Centipede or Scutigera coleoptrata . I have also learned that these things are pretty harmless and the eat other bugs which is good for keeping a house in order- BUT THEY ARE SO SCARY!

I do not kill bugs; partly because I am too scared to get near them and also because it’s not their fault they are so grotesque.  If I can get near enough to them, I will catch them and put them outside where they will probably die a longer, more painful death. That is not my fault- that is Darwin or nature taking its course. Either way- sometimes I can’t get close (last night) or am not fast enough so how do I sleep when I know there is a bug in the room? I picture it with little shoes on its scary legs- makes it a little less threatening. See below.

Scutigera coleoptrata before

Scutigera coleoptrata after

4 thoughts on “scary sitch….

  1. Dude, I found one of those assholes in my laundry room a couple years ago, running fast as hell when I turned the light on, and I FLIPPED OUT. Did a bunch of research online (which is hard to do when you have no idea what you’re really looking for) to find out whether or not it was poisonous to me or the cats.

    I came to the same conclusion as you, and have come across a couple since. The consolation that they eat all sorts of other bugs isn’t there though, and I will kill those jerks in a second if I see them.

    BTW: MISS YOU!

    • lmsanderswilcox says:

      So scary! When are you in PDX? We should plan a get together. My grandparents are no longer in The Dalles. Sad but good. I am planning on at least one gorge weekend this summer though- can I crash in your guest room- can we plan a large gorge She-bang with some swimming?

  2. Thuha says:

    I remember the time when you found a phatty spider in the law offices on the 8th floor. Instead of killing it, or just leaving it alone – you put it in a cup and took it down the 8 flights and set it free. I have mirrored your attitude toward peace with the creatures ever since.

  3. lmsanderswilcox says:

    I forgot about that- now I remember! I think I named it. Bad karma to kill bugs. Those were the days- that law office was nuts.

Leave a Reply

